Berner GRAND PRIZE Winner

David W. Berner’s Accidental Lessons has won the Grand Prize in Five Star Publication’s 2011 Royal Dragonfly Book Awards. The awards honor published authors of all types of literature – fiction and nonfiction – in a wide variety of genres. With close to 25 years of publishing expertise, Five Star Publications began the book contests in 2009 to honor excellence, and awards the grand prize winner $300. For more information on the awards, go to: http://www.fivestarpublications.com/bookcontest/winners.html

Accidental Lessons is the remarkable memoir of a man who had it all—a successful career as a broadcast journalist, a beautiful wife and family, and a good income. Life took a drastic 1980 when Berner’s father became terminally ill; he lost his job and his marriage fell apart. But it’s always darkest before the light and a serendipitous opportunity helped Berner get to his light.

After accepting a teaching position in an impoverished and troubled Chicago-area school district, he had no idea where life would take him or what these students would be like. Figuring he had nothing to lose, he ended up gaining much more than he ever thought he would. His students, representations of society’s throw-aways, taught him invaluable lessons about himself and why he became a journalist in the first place.

“Berner has given us a beautiful, elegantly-written book in the tradition of Blackboard Jungle and To Sir, With Love – the difference here is that Berner’s story is not fiction, it’s true.” – Thomas E. Kennedy, 2008 Winner of the National Magazine Award; author of Riding the Dog: A Look Back at America.

Accidental Lessons is a wonderfully written and stirring narration of an award-winning journalist’s personal struggle and self-discovery. It is a testament to truth and gives voice to those who need their story told.

Publisher’s website: www.StrategicBookPublishing.com/AccidentalLessons.html